Neuroscience Institute Researchers Attend Society for Neuroscience Conference

Posted On November 15, 2018
Categories Uncategorized

Neuroscience Institute Researchers Attend Neuroscience 2018

Dovetailing with the Neuroscience Institute’s (NI) 10-year anniversary, the NI had a large number of researchers attending this year’s annual Society for Neuroscience (SfN) meeting in San Diego, where over 28,000 neuroscientists from around the world were in attendance. The NI had a total of 21 assistant research professors, postdoctoral, graduate, and undergraduate researchers participating in this year’s conference.

Of note, NI graduate student Chris Fields in Dr. Geert de Vries’ lab chaired a Minisymposium, presenting his research on “Defining dysbiosis in disorders of movement and motivation.”

Undergraduate neuroscience major Nicolette Barnett in Dr. Marise Parent’s lab was 1 out of a total of 5 students in the nation to receive a travel grant (FUN) from the national neuroscience honor society, Nu Rho Psi. Undergraduate neuroscience major Antoinette Charles in Dr. Angela Mabb’s lab was 1 out of a total of 4 students in the nation to receive a research grant from Nu Rho Psi.

Below is a list of NI researchers who attended and presented at this year’s meeting:

NI Faculty:

Dr. Gennady Cymbalyuk

Dr. Jordan Hamm

Dr. Walt Wilczynski

NI Assistant Research Professor:

Dr. Alexandra Castillo-Ruiz

NI Postdocs:

Dr. Carla Cisternas (Forger)

Dr. Matt Kirchner (Stern)

NI Graduate Students:

Shatabdi Battacharjee (Cox)

Jonathan Borland (Albers)

Laura Cortes (Forger)

Christopher Fields (de Vries)

Lori Forster (Baro)

Evan Fullerton (Murphy)

Arlene George (Mabb)

Amin Ghane (Mabb)

Andrew Jacobs (Forger)

Natalia Maksimchuk (Cox)

Atit Patel (Cox)

Nicole Rigney (Petrulis)

Shaghayegh Valajan (Hopkins)

Jake Veldon (Rotating)

Dina Yakout (Mabb)

NI Undergraduates:

Antoinette Charles

Nicolette Barnett

Amirah Hurst